And so I begin…

Where do I start? I’m 28 years old, I’m smart and strange. I’ve been at university for the past nine years without ever graduating. I have mental health issues.

It’s this last point which has prompted me to start indulging in the gratuitous self-disclosure that is the blog. While I’ve been aware of my mental health problems for quite a few years and have been medicated in one form or another for three or four, it is only now that I’ve come to the realisation that maybe its not enough to just medicate and hope it goes away long enough for me to complete my studies, but that I may have to actively engage with my brain in all its complex wonder and try and understand what the hell is going on, and why it won’t do what I want it to.

So that’s where I am now. I’m in the process of deferring from Uni (again), I’ve got myself a new psychiatrist who I will see next week, and I must again venture into the breach and deal with the bureaucracy that is Centrelink, in the hope that I can get some recovering done without jumping through excessive hoops to ensure that I am not unexpectedly without funds.

I can’t believe that I’m the only person who has ever been in this situation, and therefore I want to share this journey. I can’t guarantee that it will always be edifying or positive, or even coherent. But I will try and be honest.

themostserene

About themostserene

Passionate, political, feminist, tree-hugger, bleeding-heart, baker, crafty-type, power tool user, anxious, bipolar, cynical, sarcastic, procrastinator, lister. View all posts by themostserene

Leave a Reply

Feminist Law Professors

Nearly all of us root for fairness, not for our own sex. - Nicholas Kristof

Captain Awkward

Advice. Staircase Wit. Faux Pas. Movies.

An oasis of calm in a web of neurosis...

Feministing

An oasis of calm in a web of neurosis...

Feministe

In defense of the sanctimonious women's studies set.

